★ Rockstar Review: Job Spotter App (Earn Money Snapping Pics of Help Wanted Signs!)

Posted May 30, 2017 6:00 am by with 6 comments

Review of: Job Spotter
Price:
Free

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
On May 30, 2017
Last modified:May 30, 2017

Summary:

A free app that pays you to take pictures of Help Wanted signs at businesses. Who wouldn't want to make money helping other people make money?

Rockstar Review: Job Spotter App (Earn Money Posting Jobs)

This is part of our Rockstar Reviews series.
Be sure to check out all previous products we’ve reviewed!


rockstar rating 4 and a half stars

Who it’s for: Anyone who owns a smartphone and likes earning Amazon gift cards.

Ease of use: Easy! Take a picture of a Help Wanted sign hanging in a store window. Then take a picture of the storefront. Submit via your smartphone and get paid.

What we like about it: It has a simple interface, and it takes less than a minute to snap two pictures and submit them.

What we don’t like about it: It takes a few days for submissions to be approved and the payout is on the low side.  

Where to find them:

jobspotter.indeed.com || FREE

[Today, Mike from FamilyFinancesLife.com shares his experience making money with the Job Spotter app. Based on his review, this might be the easiest side hustle ever!]

Make Money Helping Other People Find Jobs!

I’m always on the lookout for new side gigs where I can earn extra spending cash. So, when a co-worker told me about the Job Spotter app, I immediately downloaded it and gave it a shot.

Job Spotter has quickly become one of my favorite new apps, and when you’re done reading this review, you’ll understand why.

What is Job Spotter?

Job Spotter is a smartphone app that pays you to take pictures of Help Wanted signs. Seriously, it’s as easy as that.

Job Spotter was created by Indeed.com, one of the largest job search engines in the world. Indeed already has millions of listings that you can search through if you’re looking for a new job, but what about all the small businesses that either can’t afford or can’t be bothered to place an ad online?

If you’re looking for a new job, you’ll never come across those businesses unless you happen to get lucky enough to walk directly by them.

Job Spotter makes it easy to find those job openings because it relies on people like you and me to take pictures of Help Wanted signs wherever we see them. When you submit them through the app, they get added to the Indeed database where everyone can now find them online. And to reward us for our time to do this, they pay us!

Getting Started with Job Spotter

This is one of the easiest apps you’ll ever use. Just visit the official Job Spotter page to download and install the app for free. Once you’ve signed up, you’re ready to go hunting for Help Wanted signs!

Whenever you come across a business that is hiring, just snap a picture of the sign itself and then take a picture of the storefront. Hit submit and you’re done.

Your submission will show as Pending for a few days, while it is being reviewed. Once approved, the status will change and you’ll see how many points you’ve earned.

Here’s a screenshot of my recent submissions:

You’ll also be able to see the job listed on Indeed, where millions of other people can find it too!

Here’s an example of what it looks like online:

How Much Can You Earn With Job Spotter?

Job Spotter rewards your submissions in points that can then be paid out in the form of Amazon gift cards. Each point is worth one penny, and according to their terms Job Spotter pays anywhere between 5 and 150 points per submission.  

So far, I’ve received between 66 and 93 cents for each of my submissions. Obviously, you’re not going to be able to quit your day job on that kind of payout, but some extra spending cash never hurt anyone.

In saying that, I certainly wouldn’t suggest burning through a tank of gas and spending hours of your time searching for Help Wanted signs. You’ll end up losing money on that deal. But if you’re paying attention, you’ll start to see Help Wanted signs all over the place and you’ll be able to earn some easy money from them.

I only started using the app a couple of weeks ago, and I’ve already submitted six of them. Five have been approved for a total of $3.76 and the latest one is still pending approval.  

I do wish the turnaround time for approving submissions was a bit faster. In my experience, it takes a good 4 to 5 days for each submission to be approved.

The Job Spotter terms say it may take up to two business days to receive your reward, but the first time I requested a payout I received my gift card code in less than two hours. The good news is there’s no minimum payout so you can redeem your points even if you only have a few pennies in your account.

Best Practices

Job Spotter does provide a short tutorial and a field guide to help you earn the most you can. Follow these best practices and you’ll be good to go:

  • Make sure you get a clear picture of the Help Wanted sign and that details can be easily read.  
  • The picture of the storefront should be clear as well. If you can get a shot of the Help Wanted sign in it too, even better.
  • Job Spotter will reject any submissions that contain a person in the picture, so make sure you don’t accidentally snap a shot with a customer or passerby in it. That can be tricky in a crowded location.
  • You need to have location services turned on so the app can pinpoint the location of the sign. If you have that option disabled, your submission won’t be approved.   
  • More details means more points. A generic Now Hiring sign posted at every McDonalds in the country isn’t going to earn you many points (they’re still worth submitting though). What you really want is a detailed sign at a small business listing a job title and contact information. That’s where the higher payouts will come from.  
  • Don’t make fake signs. I really shouldn’t have to tell you this, but just in case you are wondering, it won’t work.

The TL;DR

Job Spotter will pay you to take pictures of Help Wanted signs with your smartphone. It’s as easy as that!

To get the app, visit: jobspotter.indeed.com

*****

About the author: Mike Collins is a married father of three, living on a single income in New Jersey and working to build multiple streams of income to support his family. Stop by and say hi to him at FamilyFinancesLife.com, and be sure to check out his exhaustive list of work from home opportunities.

Most Rockstar Reviews here include affiliate links to the companies being featured, however this one does not. If Indeed ever wants to pay us for pimping them out though, we’ll gladly accept the money :) We love ’em!

Bringing you the best of money! After you’re done reading this awesome article, head to our forums and come hang out :)

6 responses to ★ Rockstar Review: Job Spotter App (Earn Money Snapping Pics of Help Wanted Signs!)

  1. Mrs. Picky Pincher May 30th, 2017 at 8:59 am

    I’ve heard of this before, but I’ve never tried it myself! If you tend to be in shopping centers or visit small businesses frequently, I could see how this could be more worth the time. Worth a shot, right?

    Reply

    • J. Money June 7th, 2017 at 6:27 am

      That’s what I’m thinking? Better than the nonsense we normally take pictures of, haha…

      Reply

  2. Financial Panther May 30th, 2017 at 11:47 am

    Been using Jobspotter since I discovered it back in February and have been enjoying it. It’s great for anyone who’s already walking around. Been pulling between $15 and $25 per month just for walking around doing what I’m already doing. Good enough to cover an HBO Go subscription or something like that.

    Reply

    • J. Money June 7th, 2017 at 6:28 am

      Oh nice!! That isn’t too shabby at all!

      Reply

  3. Christine June 5th, 2017 at 11:07 pm

    I tried to email support and got this:
    “This is the mail system at host mail64.indeed.com.
    I’m sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
    be delivered to one or more recipients. It’s attached below.
    For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.
    If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
    delete your own text from the attached returned message.

    The mail system

    : host aspmx.l.google.com[173.194.78.26] said:
    550-5.7.1 Unauthenticated email from yahoo.com is not accepted due to
    domain’s 550-5.7.1 DMARC policy. Please contact the administrator of
    yahoo.com domain if 550-5.7.1 this was a legitimate mail. Please visit
    550-5.7.1 https://support.google.com/mail/answer/2451690 to learn about
    the 550 5.7.1 DMARC initiative. s124si14177661oig.62 – gsmtp (in reply to
    end of DATA command)”

    So much for Job Spotter App SUPPORT!!

    Reply

    • J. Money June 7th, 2017 at 6:28 am

      LAME!

      Maybe it’s a temporary hiccup?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *